Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Off-Topic Discussion

Old 06-12-2008, 06:50 AM   #1
patrick_777

Send a message via ICQ to patrick_777 Send a message via AIM to patrick_777 Send a message via Yahoo to patrick_777
What camera do you carry when riding?

I am an avid photographer, and love nature, so riding my GZ around just seems to go right with it. The past few times I've been out riding, just for the heck of riding, I've taken my old Canon Powershot A40 with me. The 3MP, clunky camera is pretty heavy, thick and really hard to stuff into my jacket pocket without looking like I'm sporting a distinctly camera-shaped tumor. I have a K-M 7D digital SLR, but that is just not feasible for a ride unless I luggage rack it.

My question to the group is:

What kind of camera do you carry (or do you) when you ride? And what are some out there that you consider good riding cameras? Where do you stow them?

I've been looking into the Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Elph. A staggeringly small-frame camera with great features including full-manual and integrated Image Stabilization (good for vibrations). The price runs just over $200 - $215 at NewEgg.com. A bit more than I was going to spend, but it does have a lot of features I want - lightweight, thin, 4x optical zoom, movie mode, IS, fast focus, decent exposure...etc.

The other I was looking at was a Canon, the Powershot A570 IS. Mostly the same features, but cheaper by like $50.

Any ideas? What are your cameras/concerns?

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 06-12-2008, 08:20 AM   #2
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

I use my wife's Nikon (something)4500. It's fat but it also has pretty good zoom so it's nice. Like everything else, I just tote it in my trunk. I know that's not much help, but it's my contribution.

Old 06-12-2008, 08:33 AM   #3
Sarris

Camera

I carry a Fuji Finepix A340. Now if I could just remember to use the damn thing...............

LOL :lol: