Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General GZ250 Talk

Old 02-23-2012, 11:23 PM   #1
Old School

Oil Questions for New Guy...

The last oil change on my GZ is unknown, but levels look good and the oil looks like it was just put in. Very good color. I'm not sure about the filter, it is a reddish brown. I was intending on putting new oil in it and picking up a filter. The question is this...how the heck do I get the oil out with the plug on the side of the engine...do I actually have to lay it down...dumb question I know but I am new to this. What is the best method for removing oil? What about the air filter? How often and what is the best method or where the heck is it so I can check it? Thanks from the guy who has not had time to read the online manual.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 02-23-2012, 11:28 PM   #2
mrlmd1

Re: Oil Questions for New Guy...

You had better read the manual. The plug is on the bottom, and make sure you take the right one out. I don't know what plug you are referring to on the side of the engine, hopefully not the oil site window.
Look for the thread in the How-To section of this forum for how to do an oil change,
Old 02-23-2012, 11:32 PM   #3
Old School

No, not the site window... that would be really bad. There is also another good size bolt that looked like it could be a plug, but no oil came out. So I came inside to ask the experts.

Old 02-23-2012, 11:53 PM   #4
mrlmd1

Read that thread I referenced above, it only takes 1-2 min to see how to do this.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:00 AM   #5
Water Warrior 2