Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Troubleshooting

Old 10-16-2011, 12:54 AM   #1
soydeoax

Need help with a bike that dies please!

Hello all I'm a newbie having issues with my 2000 gz250 with 6800 miles which I've had for about a month.

Tonight it happened as I was slowing down and from about 30-35 mph for a red light. Bike died all lights went dim and was unable to restart.

Same problem last week. Same situation but this time I was able to slow all the way down, stop and then died right at the red light. Again all lights dim or dead and not even a weak crank from starter.

First time it happened it was right in my driveway. Pulled in clutch put bike in gear and as soon as I revved up it died. Same end result.

There's been couple times where the bike made my 70 mile work commute with the only issue. The battery going dead after I get home. So I make it home OK but battery won't have enough juice to start bike again.

So far I've tried a few things but no luck fixing the issue. Tonight I had new battery I just purchased and had charged all day. Put seafoam in tank, checked all fuses and visible connections. Other than that issue bike runs very smooth and starts right up once its been sitting there a while and the battery is fully charged. Hope someone here can help.

Thanks very much.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 10-16-2011, 01:06 AM   #2
5th_bike

Re: Need help with a bike that dies please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by soydeoax