Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General Maintenance

Old 06-14-2011, 05:17 PM   #1
geezer

you GOTTA be kiding me!

i have to remove the forks to drain and refil the oil!? suzuki you cheap bastards! imean cooooomon!!

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 06-14-2011, 06:01 PM   #2
geezer

Re: you GOTTA be kiding me!

well it wasnt that big of a deal i got em off and refilled already :roll: actually this way you get more of the old oil out so its not really a bad thing, i wanted to ake pics and make a sticky outta this but no camara. but a drain and refill shouldnt take more than a few hours for even the uber novice. i used a jack under the pass side foot peg and the kickstand to get the front wheel off the ground for the work, turned out great
Old 06-14-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
cayuse

I'm no mechanic, but the 2nd time I took my forks off I had the first one off and drained in 20 minutes. That includes jacking and looking around for my sockets. I use the wooden jack stands described in another thread and an automotive jack under the front 'peg' bar.

2005 GZ250 (sold after 26000km)
2013 CB500XA

Old 06-14-2011, 06:20 PM   #4
geezer

i searched the forum and found that thread you hijacked :lol: yeah its not a hard job at all. fluid still looked pretty good after 13yrs too. i addes some red stuff :lol: called ss8 i had fun, thats hat i love about this bike maintaining it is actualy fun rather than hair pulling and cussinglol
Old 06-14-2011, 07:46 PM   #5
geezer