Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Free Classifieds > Parts & Accessories

Old 11-10-2009, 12:01 PM   #1
jamezgreen

Wanted: Black front fender for 02 GZ250

Hi, my fender has a good size crack in the side causing it to shake pretty good on the highway. I've looked to purchase the front fender elsewhere but can't find it on any of the parts sites. If anyone could help out I'd appreciate it.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 11-10-2009, 01:37 PM   #2
mrlmd1

Re: Wanted: Black front fender for 02 GZ250

Can you remove it and repair it with a layer of fiberglass on the inside? Cheaper than a replacement and it you line it up right, may look just as good.
Old 11-10-2009, 10:57 PM   #3
jamezgreen

that is a great idea actually. I hadn't thought of that. I've never worked with fiberglass before though... is it difficult?

Old 11-11-2009, 08:27 AM   #4
mrlmd1

Not at all, it can be messy if you don't wear some cheap vinyl gloves.
You can either go to a marine store or to a place like Walmart and pick up a small pack of fiberglass fabric, and a can of resin and hardener (catalyst) which come as a kit. They get mixed together in the correct proportions according to the directions on the can and then you paint it on the fender, wet out or saturate the piece of fabric with the mixture and apply it to the fender surface and smooth out all the air bubbles and paint another thin layer of resin over the fabric and smooth that out too. You have some time to work with the mixture, depending on the temp and the proportion of resin/hardener you mixed, and it will cure solid as a rock in anywhere from 15 min to and hour or two. If you want it stronger, you apply a second layer of mixture and fabric over the top of the first layer while it's still a little tacky. After it all cures, if you want, you can sand it smooth and it should outlast your fender. Do it on the inside of the fender and you'll never see it.