Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General Maintenance

Old 08-18-2008, 10:09 PM   #1
tyke

Oil Change Problem

I am still learning about this forum (as well as about my GZ) so please bear with me but let me know if I should have just put this problem into the other oil changing subject. My problem is that I can "see" how I am supposed to change the oil but the exhaust is so close to the drain plug I have been unable to get the socket with any type of handle or breaker bar in the space. The left-hand exhaust is directly below the drain plug and within an inch; not room enough to do anything. Do I have to move or remove the exhaust to get to it? You all seem to have lots of experience so maybe someone has run into this problem before and can help me out. Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Betty

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 08-18-2008, 10:54 PM   #2
music man

I didn't have time to look and see if this exact subject was addressed but, you do not have to take off your exhaust, and the oil plug is a pain until you have done it a few times. But you need to download the service manual and it will show you more than I can tell you. The exhaust is not directly in the way, it is just a tight squeeze.

Go to this link and download the service manual

http://www.gz250bike.com/viewtopic.php?t=27
Old 08-18-2008, 11:17 PM   #3
5th_bike

I use the extension bar that came with my Skandia metric impact wrench set.
It looks like this:

Be careful to get the right size for your wrench set (usually, 3/8", or 1/2"), and the right length, mine is 3"

While you're at it, also get a torque wrench, to properly tighten your bolts. Sears has them for about $25, with a dial.

Old 08-19-2008, 12:06 AM   #4
tyke

Oil Change Problem