Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Troubleshooting

Old 06-24-2012, 03:31 PM   #1
DieHardBigRaw

Back again....

Hey friends, back again. it looks like I am having an ongoing issue here. I went for a nice long ride today on some back country roads, about a 1.5 hours in, I was stopping at a stoplight on my way home and my GZ backfired and died. Naturally I assumed out of fuel, but that didn't make any sense as I only had 100 miles on this tank. I open the tank and its still half full, check my lights and nothing. So the battery died obviously, but I dont know why the battery died. I know I am new to riding, but I would assume that the GZ (even though its a small bike) doesn't run strictly on the battery, I imagine that would drain the battery rather quickly. Thanks for any input on this guys, I am hoping to get riding again soon... :??:

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 06-24-2012, 04:17 PM   #2
alantf

Re: Back again....

Backfire? Not necessarilly an electrical issue. How did you get home? What tests have you done? Do lights light up? etc, etc, etc. Give us the full info, then we can start helping you.
Old 06-24-2012, 05:13 PM   #3
DieHardBigRaw

I haven't done any test as of yet, I had just gotten home and then had some errands to run. I know though that the battery will charge up, but as of right now I haven't plugged it in. But after the backfire and it dying, I had no lights, not even a clicking sound like it wanted to turn over. I will plug it in and let the battery charge, what test should I be running after that though? Thanks.

Old 06-24-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
DieHardBigRaw

How did I get it home? I parked it on the side of the road, called my wife to bring my truck and put in the bed, and drove the truck. It is currently still sitting in the bed of the truck.
Old 06-24-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
PimpS

similar to my story... I'll propably check my battery on tuesday...

Old 06-24-2012, 10:26 PM   #6