Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General GZ250 Talk

Old 08-19-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
short stop

questiions from a n00b..

So, I'm new to motorcycling. Not entirely new to 2-wheels - I rode a moped back while in college. But I'm new to gear shifting, and I've started riding my 2000 GZ250 about a month ago. I've ridden it around the neighbourhoods and have gotten fairly comfortable with upshifting and downshifting, stop signs, right+left turns, traffic, all the fun basics, etc.

But I have some questions about the shifting in terms of speed and performance of the bike. I've heard time and time again that the bike can reach highway speeds (albeit with some effort). The other night while coming home from work I decided to try the highway (no cars on road at 3am), and gave the bike all it had, and couldn't get it to go any faster than 90kmh (apologies, Canadian here). Keep in mind, I weigh about 115lbs. I was also trying my best to upshift as late as possible (I think I was, anyways). So...I guess my main question is whether this is caused by:

1) n00bie shifting
2) this is a 250cc, duh
3) mechanical issue with bike

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I do plan on trying the highway again in the near future, and am willing to try anything to get it to go a bit faster.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 08-19-2008, 08:37 PM   #2
Sarris

Performance

The GZ will normally do 65 to 70 mph no problem, so if you are only getting up to 56 mph (90 kph) you may need;
A) A tuneup and spark plug
B) A valve adjustment
C) A new air filter

Realize also, that 5th gear on the GZ's a basically an overdrive, so rev the crap out of it in 4th to get close to your needed speed before shifting into 5th.

Hope this helps. Anybody else with a thought or two??

:2tup:
Old 08-19-2008, 09:15 PM   #3
Easy Rider

Re: Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarris
Hope this helps. Anybody else with a thought or two??